Student Assessment

Georgia Milestones

The Georgia Milestones Assessment System is a comprehensive assessment system spanning grades 3 through high school. Georgia Milestones measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies. Students in grades 3 through 8 will take the End of Grade (EOG) measures in each content area, while high school students will take End of Course (EOC) measures for each of the ten courses associated with the EOC measures.

Milestones FAQs

Parent Guide ENG/SPAN


Georgia’s Student Assessment Program

The purpose of the Georgia Student Assessment Program is to measure the level of student achievement of the state-adopted curriculum, to identify students failing to achieve mastery of content, to provide teachers with diagnostic information, and to assist school systems in identifying strengths and areas of improvement in order to establish priorities in planning educational programs.

The assessment program includes criterion-referenced assessments at the elementary, middle, and high school levels; the National Assessment of Educational Progress in grades 4, 8 and 12; an English language proficiency test in grades K-12; and an optional norm-referenced test.

The mandatory state assessments include:

  • ACCESS for ELLs in grades K-12
  • Georgia Milestones
  • Reading, English/Language Arts, and Mathematics in grades 1-8
  • Science and Social Studies in grades 3-8
  • Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT-M): Reading, English/Language Arts, and Mathematics in grades 3-8
  • End-of-Course Tests (EOCT): Mathematics I, Mathematics II, GPS Algebra, GPS Geometry, Grade 9 Literature and Composition, Economics/Business/Free Enterprise, U.S. History, Biology, and Physical Science, principally in grades 9-12
  • Georgia Alternate Assessment in grades K-8 and 11 (GAA)
  • Georgia High School Graduation Tests (GHSGT): English/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies, principally in grades 11-12
  • Georgia Kindergarten Inventory of Developing Skills (GKIDS)
  • Grades 3, 5, 8, and 11 Writing Assessments
  • National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

You can learn more about these assessments on the Georgia Department of Education website.


The Governor's Office of Student Achievement (GOSA) produces annual accountability reports for K-12 Public Schools, the Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL), the Technical College System of Georgia (TSCG) [formerly DTAE], the University System of Georgia (USG), and the Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC). These reports comprise the Report Card. You can learn more on the GOSA website.

Evaluating Student Performance in Dalton Public Schools

The evaluation of student performance in Dalton Public Schools is accomplished over time, with multiple pieces of data and with analysis at different tiers and by a variety of personnel and stakeholders. Analysis of state assessment results provides us with only one of multiple indicators that are used to determine strengths, set goals, determine priorities and initiate any corrective actions where needed in the overall instructional program.

To see the Georgia Milestones presentation that was presented to the Dalton Board of Education during the September 12, 2016 work session, click here

Dalton Public Schools Georgia Milestones FAQs