2016 - 17 English

Printable Version Here

DALTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS

SCHOOL CALENDAR

2016-2017

Beginning June 1, 2016

Pre-registration for All New Students – DPS Enrollment Center

101 N. Thornton Ave., (706) 876-4000

Tuesday - Friday, Aug. 2-5

Professional Learning Days

Thursday, August 4School Orientations: Middle School - Morning; Elementary - Afternoon

Monday, August 8

First Day of School

Monday, September 5

Labor Day Holiday

Tuesday, September 6

Student Holiday/Staff Professional Learning Day

Monday, October 10

Staff & Student Holiday

Wednesday - Friday, November 23-25

Thanksgiving Holidays

Friday, December 16

Early Dismissal for Students

Winter Holiday Begins for Staff & Students

End First Semester (89 days)

Tuesday, January 3

Student Holiday/Staff Work Day

Wednesday, January 4

Classes Resume for Students after Winter Holidays

Monday, January 16

Staff & Student Holiday

Thursday, February 16

Student Holiday/Staff Professional Learning Days

Friday-Monday, February 17-20

Mid-Winter Holiday

Friday, March 10

*School Make-Up Day

Monday - Friday, April 3 - 7

Spring Holidays

Friday, April 14

Staff and Student Holiday

Thursday, May 25

**Last Student Day of School; Early Dismissal for Students

**End Second Semester (91 days)

Friday, May 26

*School Make-Up Day

Staff Professional Learning Day

**High School Graduations

Monday, May 29

Memorial Day Holiday

Tuesday-Wednesday, May 30-31

Staff Professional Learning Days

Thursday, June 1

Staff Professional Learning Days Make-Up Day


1ST SEMESTER - 89 DAYS

2ND SEMESTER - 91 DAYS

* School Make-Up Days will be used as school days in the event days are missed due to weather/emergencies. Otherwise, these days will be student/staff holidays.

** Graduation date and the last day of school can be affected by make-up days.

Elementary Schools

Nine Weeks Grading Periods End / Report Card Dates

Wednesday, October 12 ............... Wednesday, October 19

Friday, December 16 ................Friday, January 6

Wednesday, March 15 ......................Wednesday, March 22

Thursday, May 25 ....................Thursday, May 25


Dalton Middle, Dalton High, and MIHS

Semester Ends /Semester Report Cards

Friday, December 16 ........................Friday, January 6

Thursday, May 25 .......................Wednesday, May 31


Dalton Middle, Dalton High and MIHS

Six Weeks Periods End /Progress Reports Issued

1st: Tuesday, September 20 ...............................Tuesday, September 27

2nd: Wednesday, November 2 .............................Wednesday, November 9

3rd: Friday, December 16 ........................Friday, January 6

4th: Wednesday, February 15......................Friday, February 24

5th: Thursday, April 13..........................Friday, April 21

6th: Thursday, May 25 ...................................Wednesday, May 31


Early Dismissal for ALL Students/Professional Learning

Friday, December 16

Thursday, May 25