Dalton Public Schools News

Dalton Middle Inducts Inaugural Members into Thespian Society
Dalton Middle Inducts Inaugural Members into Thespian Society
Thespians at Dalton MIddle

Dalton Middle School recently inducted 17 students as the inaugural members of the International Thespian Society at the school. The students qualified with over 50 hours of theatre work at their school.

Inducted to the Society were Ariana Avila, Jeb Bethel, Sarah Forberger, Isaiah Georges, Emma Heinek, Abagail Howard, McKinley Kersey, Ansley Nguyen, Linda Olvera-Jones, Aaron Perez, Owen Potts, Lauren Pye, Max Rounsaville, Brooke Schlisner, Aidan Scibilia, Makenna Selfors and Griffin Webb.

The International Thespian Society is the only theatre honor society for middle and high school students in the country. Affiliation brings credibility and distinction to students, theatre programs and schools. It is a visible, positive symbol of the quality of a theatre program. Currently, there are 4,700 schools that have International Thespian Societies in 47 states and 13 countries.

Dalton Middle Students Sitting in Meeting of Thespian Society

The International Thespian Society group at each school is known as a troupe, and it is led by a troupe director. Middle schools groups are called junior troupes. Keith Rollins, the drama teacher at Dalton Middle, said that Dalton High has had an active troupe for a number of years, but this is the first year for Dalton Middle to have a junior troupe.