Public PK-12 School District in Dalton, Georgia

Dalton Public Schools News

History of Writing Celebrated at Young Georgia Authors Celebration 2019

Dalton Public Schools celebrated the rich history of writing that has been passed down in the district through the years at the annual Young Georgia Authors Celebration on March 27. The event, titled "Cat Tales: A Lasting Imprint," featured speakers that encouraged the audience to inspire someone else to write by passing on their stories.

The celebration kicked off with a gallery walk through the Wink Theater with students' writing on display for attendees to read and leave encouraging notes. It also featured pieces of writing by current staff members from their school days, old writing artifacts like a typewriter, and a table of the Dalton Middle School Success Academy's 18-Word Writing publication.

The program began with a welcome from event host and District Literacy Coordinator Alice Ensley and the Pledge, led by Dalton Middle School student Caddarius Jackson. Don Amonett, Minnie Marsh, Brian Suits, Laura Orr, Meleia Bridenstine, Courtenay Cholovich, Edith Nava, Abby Gleaton, Andrea Najera and Jennifer Phinney each shared a brief testimony about their relationship and history with writing. The line of speakers, from old to young, was a great demonstration of how we all experience writing in a different way and can use those experiences to inspire others and pass down our writing tools.

The audience also enjoyed performances of "Sadly in Love" by Dalton High School senior Abby Gleaton and "This is Me" by the Dalton Middle School choir. Dalton Middle School teacher Amanda Triplett and Success Academy student Maritza Pasillas spoke about the Success Academy and how it impacts students' lives. Triplett read a poem by student Alex Rodriguez titled "They Say I'm Not From Here." She then accepted the Jim Hawkins Innovative Writing Award on behalf of the Success Academy, recognized for the innovative idea to host the 18 words writing event.

Watch the district's digital feature "How do you make an Imprint?" here, filmed by the Dalton Middle School journalism students and directed by DPS communications.

View photos from the event and a list of school, district and RESA winners below.

Elementary school winners were:

Blue Ridge

Lorelai Glaze

Blanca Chavez

Briana Villalobos

Daniel Hinojosa

Natalia Villalobos

Emilio Ortiz


Daniela Martinez

Jacob McClure

Lillian Cobb

Eros Tardie

Claire Hastings

Charles Whittle Jr.

City Park

Autumn Porter

Eshal Ahmed

Aylin Fraire-Torres

Madison Stanley

Andrea Najera

Mariana Ramirez

Park Creek

Adair Hernandez

Gabriela Contreras

Abby Lopez

Genesis Ramirez

Ailani Estrada

Mirian Jaimes


Ariana Guzman Lopez

Axel Castaneda

Jair Fraire

Jasmin Meza-Moreno

Jesus Pacheco

Victoria Amaro


Kartell Robinson

Cate Norwood

Vivien Kwon

Wells Wilkerson

Kimberly Martinez-Pacheco

Rhett Simmons

DMS 6th Grade

Lanier Land

Emma Martin

Jose Ochoa

Michael Rivera Tobar

Lilli Sharp

DMS 7th Grade

Kolbi Bonds

Priyanshi Chaudhari

William Land

Melissa Melendez

Ava White

DMS 8th Grade

Jesus Garcia

Lily Holmes

Bella Salaices

Vianey Vidana

Emmy Vong

Morris Innovative High School

Haliee Folks

Michelle Deloraya

Katelyn Greer

Fernando Herrera

Olivia Lewis

DHS 9th Grade

Nathan Haynes

Yasmeen Issa

Alina Neely

Anthony Rosillo

Brooke Schlisner

Dylan Spaulding

DHS 10th Grade

Tamia Garner

Andrew Kinser

Wendy Pelayo

Nathan Perez

Michael Pineda

Reagan Brady

DHS 11th Grade

Cynthia Castillo

Megan Robertson

Karina Rodriguez Segura

Diego Torres

Valentina Torres

DHS 12th Grade

Hillary Dong

Yuritzy Ramos

Taylor Triplett

Cristian Vergara

District winners were:

Kindergarten - Ariana Guzman Lopez, Roan School

1st grade - Cate Norwood, Westwood

2nd grade - Abby Lopez, Park Creek

3rd grade - Jasmin Meza-Moreno, Roan School

4th grade - Andrea Najera, City Park

5th grade - Victoria Amaro, Roan School

6th grade - Michael Rivera Tobar, Dalton Middle School

7th grade - Priyanshi Chaudhari, Dalton Middle School

8th grade - Bella Salaices, Dalton Middle School

9th grade - Alina Neely, Dalton High School

10th grade - Tamia Garner, Dalton High School

11th grade - Cynthia Castillo, Dalton High School

12th grade - Yuritzy Ramos, Dalton High School

Three students were recognized as RESA winners:

Runner Up - Ariana Guzman Lopez, kindergarten, Roan School

1st Place - Cate Norwood, 1st grade, Westwood

1st Place - Alina Neely, 9th grade, Dalton High School

1st place RESA entries will be sent to compete at the state level.